Postdoctoral Position in Theoretical Physics
Uppsala University Department of Physics and Astronomy
Sweden

Three or More Postdoctoral Positions in Theoretical Physics

Published: 2020-10-29

Uppsala University is a comprehensive research-intensive university with a strong international standing. Our mission is to pursue top-quality research and education and to interact constructively with society. Our most important assets are all the individuals whose curiosity and dedication make Uppsala University one of Sweden’s most exciting workplaces. Uppsala University has 46.000 students, 7.300 employees and a turnover of SEK 7.3 billion.

The research conducted at the Department of Physics and Astronomy encompasses a wide range of physics topics, distributed over ten divisions. The department is located in the Ångström laboratory and employs nearly 400 people, 125 of whom are doctoral students. It offers a broad physics curriculum to undergraduate and graduate students, participation in nationally and internationally leading projects for researchers, and opportunities for partnership with industry and various outreach activities. Find out more at www.physics.uu.se.

Duties/Project description:

The postdoctoral positions are part of several projects and grants funded by the Knut and Alice Wallenberg Foundation, the European Research Council, the Swedish Research Council and the Ragnar Söderberg Foundation. Applicants are expected to conduct research in theoretical physics related to quantum field theory and string theory. Research areas of particular interest include (but are not restricted to): supersymmetry, gauge/gravity duality, integrability, scattering amplitudes, gravitational waves, cosmology, and string phenomenology.

Requirements:

To qualify for an employment as a postdoctor you must have a PhD degree or a foreign degree equivalent to a PhD degree in theoretical physics or equivalent. The PhD degree must have been obtained no more than three years prior to the application deadline. The three year period can be extended due to circumstances such as sick leave, parental leave, duties in labour unions, etc.

The application should contain a cover letter mentioning their research area, a CV, a brief research statement, and a publication list. Personal circumstances that may be of relevance in the evaluation, for example periods of parental leave, should be mentioned in the CV.

Salary: Individual salary.

Starting date: 01-09-2021 or as otherwise agreed.

Type of employment: Temporary position two years according to central collective agreement.

Scope of employment: 100 %

For further information about the position please contact:

  • Agnese Bissi (agnese.bissi@physics.uu.se)
  • Ulf Danielsson (ulf.danielsson@physics.uu.se)
  • Guido Festuccia (guido.festuccia@physics.uu.se)
  • Henrik Johansson (henrik.johansson@physics.uu.se)
  • Magdalena Larfors (magdalena.larfors@physics.uu.se)
  • Joseph Minahan (joseph.minahan@physics.uu.se)
  • Oliver Schlotterer (oliver.schlotterer@physics.uu.se)
  • Dmytro Volin (dmytro.volin@physics.uu.se)
  • Maxim Zabzine (maxim.zabzine@physics.uu.se)

Please submit your application by 01 December 2020, UFV-PA 2020/3784.

Are you considering moving to Sweden to work at Uppsala University? If so, you will find a lot of information about working and living in Sweden at www.uu.se/joinus. You are also welcome to contact International Faculty and Staff Services at ifss@uadm.uu.se.

Please do not send offers of recruitment or advertising services.

Submit your application through Uppsala University's recruitment system.

Placement: Department of Physics and Astronomy

Type of employment: Full time , Temporary position longer than 6 months

Pay: Fixed salary

Number of positions: 3

Working hours: 100%

Town: Uppsala

County: Uppsala län

Country: Sweden

Union representative: Seko Universitetsklubben seko@uadm.uu.se
ST/TCO tco@fackorg.uu.se
Saco-rådet saco@uadm.uu.se

Number of reference: UFV-PA 2020/3784

Last application date: 2020-12-01


If you apply for this position please say you saw it on Physicaloxy

Apply

All Jobs

FACEBOOK
TWITTER
LINKEDIN

Harvard University Academic Positions

Kuwait University Current Faculty Openings

Osaka University Academic Opportunities

Purdue University Job Postings for Faculty Positions

Texas Tech University Faculty Openings

Tsinghua University Job Postings

University of Cambridge Job Openings

University of Geneva Faculty Opportunities

University of New South Wales Job Openings

University of Nottingham Research Positions

University of Oslo Academic Jobs

University of Saskatchewan Faculty Positions

University of Southampton Research Vacancies

University of Tokyo Current Academic Vacancies

University of Toronto Open Faculty Positions

University of Zurich Job Postings